Countdown to the Super Bowl: 13 days

We are now 13 days from the Super Bowl. Or in other words, the 13 longest days of the year!

When you think of the No. 13, it’s hard not to acknowledge the number of championships won by the Green Bay Packers. Four of those victories, of course, came via Super Bowls. But 13 is the most championships of any team.

But No. 13 also has a dubious honor in Super Bowl lore, as it’s the number of arguably the greatest player to never win a title — Dan Marino.

Marino led the Dolphins to Super Bowl XIX in just his second year in the league, but he went up against one of the greatest teams in NFL history. Marino threw for 318 yards a touchdown and two interceptions as the 49ers rolled 38-16. Marino would never play in the Super Bowl again.

Some of the other players considered the best to never win a Super Bowl include Eric Dickerson, Jack Youngblood, Deacon Jones, Barry Sanders, Fran Tarkenton, Warren Moon, Dan Fouts, Jim Kelly, Steve Largent and Randy Moss.

And if you want to play “stump the savant” and point out that Otto Graham, Sammy Baugh and Bobby Layne never won Super Bowls, well you would technically be correct. But all three did win NFL championships in the pre-Super Bowl era, so the point is moot.

So this goes out to Danny Marino!

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. To report inappropriate comments, click the “X” that appears in the top right corner when your mouse is hovered over the chosen comment.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)