Deion doubles his enshrinement pleasure

Three months after Deion Sanders learned that he was part of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2011, it was announced Tuesday morning that he was also among the 16 newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Sanders, who starred at Florida State before embarking on his NFL career, will become the 113th player to become a member of both Halls of Fame.

Among the other 2011 college honorees with strong NFL ties were:

Doug English (DT, Texas): Four-time Pro Bowler with Detroit Lions, still holds NFL record with four career safeties.

Eddie George (RB, Ohio State): Ranks 23rd on all-time NFL rushing list.

Marty Lyons (DT, Alabama): Member of Jets’ famed “New York Sack Exchange” in 1980s.

Russell Maryland (DT, Miami): Part of all three Super Bowl teams for Dallas Cowboys in the ‘90s.

Jake Scott (S, Georgia): Super Bowl VII MVP for Miami Dolphins.

Will Shields (G, Nebraska): A 12-time Pro Bowler for Kansas City Chiefs.

Darryl Talley (LB, West Virginia): Started in four Super Bowls with the Buffalo Bills.

The rest of the 2011 college class: Florida WR Carlos Alvarez, Oregon State FB Bill Enyart, Minnesota QB Sandy Stephens, Oklahoma HB Clendon Thomas, Arizona DL Rob Waldrop, Michigan State WR Gene Washington, Michigan coach Lloyd Carr, and Air Force coach Fisher DeBerry.

The class will be inducted at the National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner in New York on Dec. 6.

Sanders — along with Richard Dent, Shannon Sharpe, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Ed Sabol, and fellow NFL Network analyst Marshall Faulk — will be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Aug. 6.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)