Week 17 notable nuggets

Without a doubt, Week 17 of the 2010 season brought us a lot to chew on from a statistical standpoint. Here’s one to get started: 22 different quarterbacks passed for at least 3,000 yards this season, the most in a single season in NFL history.  The previous record was 19 set in 2001 and 2009.

One last time, with assists from the NFL research desk and the league office, here’s a look at some of the most notable numbers and statistics of the week:

Patriots 38, Dolphins 7

The Patriots had their eighth straight game with 30-plus points, the third-longest streak in NFL history. Their 14 wins this season marked the fourth time in franchise history with 14-plus wins in the regular season, tied with the 49ers for most all-time.

The Patriots committed one turnover (Danny Woodhead’s fumble) Sunday, ending their NFL-record streak of seven straight games without a turnover. Their 10 turnovers this season is the fewest in NFL history, and +28 turnover differential was tied for third-best since 1960.

Bill Belichick became the first head coach in NFL history to win 14-plus games in the regular season four times during in his career.

Tom Brady extended three of his current NFL records: 28 consecutive home wins as starter, 335 consecutive pass attempts without an INT and nine straight games with two or more passing TDs and no INTs. His 111.0 passer rating this season was fifth highest in NFL history.

Ravens 13, Bengals 7

Ed Reed recorded two INTs in back-to-back games for the second time in his career, and with 54 career INTs is tied for 19th all-time with Eric Allen, Willie Brown and Darrell Green, passing Deion Sanders and Ty Law. Reed now has 1,438 career INT return yards, passing Darren Sharper for second all-time behind Rod Woodson’s NFL record of 1,483.

Falcons 31, Panthers 10

Matt Ryan set a franchise single-season record for completions (357) and at 33-13 in his career as a starter, tied Dan Marino for most wins by a starting QB in his first three seasons since 1970.

Roddy White finished with 115 receptions this season, breaking the franchise record held by Terance Mathis (111 receptions in 1994).

Tony Gonzalez recorded his 88th career receiving TD, tying Don Maynard for 10th all-time.

Lions 20, Vikings 13

The Lions have won four straight games for first time since 1999 under head coach Bobby Ross.

Ndamukong Suh had 10.0 sacks this season, the second-most by a rookie DT behind Dana Stubblefield’s 10.5 sacks in 1993.

For just the second time in 20 NFL seasons, Brett Favre was on a team with a losing record. His only other losing season was 2005 when the Packers finished 4-12. The Vikings (6-10) finished last in the division for the first time since 1990.

Steelers 41, Browns 9

The Steelers claimed their 20th division title in franchise history, most all-time.

Mike Wallace had his seventh 100-yard receiving game this season, tying John Stallworth’s franchise record set in 1984.

Rashard Mendenhall finished the season with 1,273 rushing yards and 13 rushing TDs, joining Franco Harris and Willie Parker as the only players in franchise history with 1,200-plus yards and 12-plus TDs in a season.

Raiders 31, Chiefs 10

The Raiders, 6-0 vs AFC West this season, are the first team since 1970 to sweep their division and miss the playoffs.

Jamaal Charles finished the season averaging 6.38 yards per rush, the third-highest average since 1960 (minimum 10 rush attempts per game). He joins Jim Brown (291 attempts, 1,863 rushing yards, 6.40 yards per carry in 1963) as the only players in NFL history to have at least 1,400 rushing yards and average more than 6.30 yards per carry in a single season.

Buccaneers 23, Saints 13

The Buccaneers went 10-6 this season after finishing 3-13 last season, the best one-season turnaround  in franchise history and best in the NFL this season.

Mike Williams finished with 11 receiving TDs, the third-most by a rookie since 1970.

Williams (964 receiving yards) and LeGarrette Blount (1,007 rushing yards) became the first rookie teammates to lead all rookies in those categories since Pat Harder (545 rushing yards) and Mal Kutner (634 receiving yards) of the Chicago Cardinals in 1946.

Texans 34, Jaguars 17

Arian Foster led the NFL with 1,616 rushing yards this season and joins Priest Holmes (1,615 in 2002) as the only undrafted players to reach 1,600 rushing yards in a season and lead the league in rushing since the advent of the common draft in 1967.

Colts 23, Titans 20

The Colts have advanced to the postseason in nine consecutive seasons, tying the Cowboys (1975-83) for the longest such streak in NFL history.  The Colts also notched their ninth consecutive 10-win season, the second-longest streak in NFL history (16, San Francisco, 1983-98).

Peyton Manning finished the season with 4,700 passing yards to join Dan Fouts (1980-81) and Warren Moon (1990-91) as the only players in NFL history to have consecutive seasons with at least 4,500 passing yards.

Packers 10, Bears 3

Devin Hester finished the season averaging 17.1 yards per punt return, an NFL single-season record (minimum 30 punt returns), and a full yard better than Jermaine Lewis (16.1 ypr in 2000).

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)