2011 Senior Bowl roster taking shape

The Senior Bowl is a can’t-miss event that NFL scouts have circled on their calendars to gauge the prospects of future NFL stars. Names are starting to trickle in as to who will play in this year’s event.

West Virginia speedster Noel Devine, Boise State wideouts Austin Pettis and Titus Young, as well as Florida State quarterback Christian Ponder and Alabama’s Greg McElroy have all committed to the event.

Devine, who is the school leader in all-purpose yards with 5,690, will look to make a lasting impression on scouts despite missing time during the season due to a toe injury. Despite his injury, Devine rushed for 844 yards and six touchdowns for the Mountaineers this season, good for seventh in the Big East Conference.

It’s hard to imagine Boise State’s recent success without two of their top wide receivers. Pettis and Young have been a part of Broncos teams that have gone 48-5 in the last four years and the duo combined for 2,166 yards and 19 touchdowns this season alone. Pettis will leave Boise State as the all-time leader in receptions and touchdown catches, while Young will leave as the all-time receiving yards leader.

Ponder has battled an arm injury throughout the year.

McElroy, who led the Tide to a BCS Championship as a junior, is excited to compete against his peers on January 29 in Mobile, Alabama’s Ladd-Peebles Stadium.

“Being invited to the Senior Bowl is probably single-handily the greatest honor you can achieve as a college football senior,” McElroy said in the announcement that appeared on Seniorbowl.com. “I’m very thrilled and very much looking forward to competing against the best that our sport has to offer and it should be a great experience and great learning opportunity as we approach and embark on the next step of our football careers.”

More names will soon be announced as the seniors finish up their postseason play.

The Senior Bowl features two teams (North vs. South), coached by NFL coaching staffs. It is widely regarded as an NFL coaches convention due to the high number of front-office personnel that will attend the event. Last year, head coach Jim Schwartz of the Lions and Tony Sparano of the Dolphins coached the two teams. The 2011 game will kick off at 4:00 p.m. ET and the contest will be nationally televised by NFL Network.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)