Brady comes from behind to clinch fan vote

Much like Tom Brady’s come-from-behind victory against the Packers in Week 15, the clutch QB also surpassed Michael Vick in the final week of Pro Bowl fan voting by a massive 354,642 votes. This despite Vick having the lead for the past two weeks.

The top ten vote-getters are made up of only QBs and RBs with Adrian, Aaron and Arian (try saying that three times fast) dropping to the bottom half of that elite group from the last tally.

Final Top Ten Pro Bowl Fan Votes:

1. QB Tom Brady, Patriots – 1,877,079

2. QB Michael Vick, Eagles – 1,522,437

3. QB Peyton Manning, Colts – 1,130,399

4. QB Philip Rivers, Chargers – 1,039,618

5. QB Drew Brees, Saints – 971,731

6. RB Adrian Peterson, Vikings – 948,410

7. QB Aaron Rodgers, Packers – 900,544

8. RB Arian Foster, Texans – 710,166

9. RB Maurice Jones-Drew, Jaguars – 707,913

10.QB Matt Ryan, Falcons – 704,817

Some other notable facts and last-minute moves:

  • MJD was held to 46 rushing yards in Indy, which ended his six-game streak of 100 yards or more per game. Despite that, Jones-Drew cracked the top ten for the first time, bumping teammate QB David Garrard out in the process.
  • In one of the closest vote totals, the Falcons’ Roddy White topped the Eagles’ DeSean Jackson (or, “You little midget you!” according to Andy Reid) in the NFC receiver race by only 8,046 votes.
  • The Jags’ Josh Scobee knocked off Sebastian Janikowski for the AFC kicker spot. Scobee has made 83.3 percent of his kicks to Sea Bass’ 80 percent thus far this season.
  • As for the rooks, Sam Bradford and Ndamukung Suh might have gone No. 1 and No. 2 in the draft, but they flipped spots in fan voting. The Lions’ Suh also had the most votes of any defensive tackle in the league with 405,597.
  • Another top five rookie vote-getter was TE Ron Gronkowski of the Pats, who has a highly entertaining website with his bros -– get Gronk’d!

The fan vote counts for one-third of the Pro Bowl selection process. Coaches and players must vote by Thursday for the remaining two-thirds, and the official announcement will be made on the NFL Network on Dec. 28 at 7 p.m. ET.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. To report inappropriate comments, click the “X” that appears in the top right corner when your mouse is hovered over the chosen comment.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)