Should possession rule be changed?

The talk of Week 1 is going to be Calvin Johnson’s game-winning touchdown that wasn’t.

Trailing 19-14, Johnson hauled in what looked to everyone to be a 25-yard touchdown with 31 seconds remaining against the Bears. The side judge on the field ruled it a touchdown, but the play was reviewed in the booth and ruled an incomplete pass.

Despite coming down with the ball with both feet, followed by his body and then hand hitting the ground (which you’ll see in the highlight video above), Johnson wasn’t able to maintain possession, which is the nature of the rule.

“I like the rule, because when a player dives and hits the ground all at the same time, I can understand that maintaining possession should happen,” Steve Mariucci said. “But in this case, both feet hit, and his rear end, prior to the ball coming out of his hand. This seems to be a different process, a different scenario. I’d like to see us revisit that rule.”

Marshall Faulk saw the play the same way.

“To me, that’s a touchdown,” Faulk said. “But I understand the rule as it stands.”  

While the call on the field, per the rule, was the right call … should it be changed?

– Frank Tadych

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,431 other followers