Three owners to present Hall of Famers

A 45-year tradition of owners presenting Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees continues Saturday night as three owners will serve as presenters in Canton, Ohio.

At the enshrinement, New Orleans Saints owner Tom Benson will present former Saints linebacker Rickey Jackson, Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones will introduce former Cowboys running back Emmitt Smith, and former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, Jr. will present former 49ers receiver Jerry Rice.

“Mr. Benson has always been good to me and stood by me since day one. I owe a great deal of my success to him,” Jackson said upon selecting Benson.

When he selected Jones, Smith tweeted, “I’m honored to have [him] intro me [because] he’s done so much for me in my career.”

“I was floored,” DeBartolo said in February when Rice asked him to serve as his presenter.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)