Breakdown of the Cushing revote

The Associated Press held a revote for the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Award Wednesday, with a nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters voting to give Texans LB Brian Cushing the award again.

Cushing, who received 39 votes on the first ballot, got 18 in the revote to retain the honor. In all, 19 voters switched from Cushing, and one switched to Cushing, who finished five votes ahead of Jairus Byrd (13) of the Buffalo Bills.

Ed Bouchette of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette was the one writer who switched to Cushing, based on his disagreement with The AP for calling a revote on the award. Bouchette isn’t alone in his stance of disagreeing with the revote. But there’s two sides, and Peter King of Sports Illustrated, who switched his vote to Clay Matthews,  agreed with the decision.

“I’m glad that they had the revote. I’m not glad the way the revote turned out,” King told NFL Total Access.

Here’s a breakdown of the revote:

Kept Brian Cushing (17 votes)
Don Banks, Sports
Bob Berger, Sporting News Radio
Chris Berman, ESPN
Steve Cohen, Sirius Satellite Radio
Frank Cooney, SportsXChange
Mark Craig, Minneapolis Star Tribune
Tom Curran, Comcast Sportsnet
Vinny Ditrani, The Record
Rick Gosselin, Dallas Morning News
Paul Gutierrez, Sacramento Bee
Clark Judge,
John McClain, Houston Chronicle
Gary Myers, New York Daily News
Danny O’Neil, Seattle Times
Pete Prisco,
Adam Teicher, Kansas City Star
Charean Williams Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Kept Jairus Byrd (4 votes)
Brian Allee-Walsh, New
Paul Domowitch, Philadelphia Daily News
Ashley Fox, Philadelphia Inquirer
Armando Salguero, Miami Herald

Kept Clay Matthews (3 votes)
Jim Corbett, USA Today
Tony Grossi, Cleveland Plain Dealer
Kent Somers, Arizona Republic

Changed to Brian Cushing (1 vote)
Ed Bouchette, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Jairus Byrd)

Changed from Brian Cushing (19 votes)
Jarrett Bell, USA Today (Jairus Byrd)
Clifton Brown, The Sporting News (Jairus Byrd)
Rich Cimini, New York Daily News (Clay Matthews)
John Clayton, ESPN The Magazine (Clay Matthews)
Bob Costas, HBO/NBC Sports (Clay Matthews)
John Czarnecki, Fox Sports (Brian Orakpo)
Boomer Esiason, CBS/Westwood One (Jairus Byrd)
Mark Gaughan, Buffalo News (Jairus Byrd)
Nancy Gay, AOL Fanhouse (Jairus Byrd)
Bob Glauber, Newsday (Jairus Byrd)
Dave Goldberg, AOL Fanhouse (Clay Matthews)
Ira Kaufman, Tampa Tribune (Jairus Byrd)
Peter King, Sports Illustrated (Clay Matthews)
Matt Maiocco, Santa Rosa Press Democrat (Clay Matthews)
Alex Marvez, (Jairus Byrd)
Pat McManamon, Akron Beacon Journal (Jairus Byrd)
Dan Pompei, Chicago Tribune (Clay Matthews)
Adam Schein, Sirius NFL Radio (Brian Orakpo)
Frank Schwab, Colorado Springs Gazette (Clay Matthews)

Abstained (2)
Chris Mortensen, ESPN
Tom Silverstein, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel
Note: Both had Cushing in the original balloting.

Changed from Jairus Byrd (2)
Ed Bouchette, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Brian Cushing)
David Elfin, Washington Times (Brian Orakpo)

Changed from Brian Orakpo (2)
Howard Balzer, Fox Sports Net (James Laurinaitis)
Len Shapiro, Miami Herald (Clay Matthews)

Howie Long, Fox Sports

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)