Hall of Fame selectors have begun their debate

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. — The 40 members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee are behind closed doors as we speak, deciding who will be part of the Class of 2010.

For more on the New Orleans Saints, check out the latest from our Saints bloggers.

» Blog Blitz: Saints

For more on the Indianapolis Colts, check out the latest from our Colts bloggers.

» Blog Blitz: Colts

The meeting began at 9 a.m. ET in a private room at the Super Bowl media center, and it likely will go well into the afternoon, as the selectors debate the merits of 15 modern-era finalists and two Seniors Committee nominees.

Actually, this year’s meeting may not take as long. Presumably, the selectors don’t have to spend too much time on Emmitt Smith and Jerry Rice. Those two are considered no-brainers, so the selectors should be able to move on quickly after their names come up.

The Class of 2010, which will be comprised of anywhere from four to seven members, will be announced Saturday at 5:30 p.m. ET, and can be seen live on NFL Network and NFL.com.

In addition to Smith and Rice, the other 15 finalists are: Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Don Coryell, Roger Craig, Dermontti Dawson, Richard Dent, Russ Grimm, Charles Haley, Rickey Jackson, Cortez Kennedy, Dick LeBeau (seniors committee), Floyd Little (seniors committee), John Randle, Andre Reed, and Shannon Sharpe.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. To report inappropriate comments, click the “X” that appears in the top right corner when your mouse is hovered over the chosen comment.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)