Boldin’s TD was a run, not a reception

It’s Christmas Eve, a time for family, gift-giving and the start of 24-hours of A Christmas Story. So I’m hoping I’m not playing the role of Ebenezer Scrooge with this blog post.

The official stat provider of the NFL has ruled that Kurt Warner’s touchdown “pass” to Anquan Boldin in last week’s game against the Lions wasn’t a pass at all. It was lateral and thus, a run.

As a result, Warner will a lose a touchdown pass and five passing yards. Boldin will lose a reception, five receiving yards and a receiving touchdown but will gain five rushing yards and a rushing touchdown.

While the change in points is miniscule for fantasy owners who started Boldin, those who used Warner lose either four or six points for the touchdown (depending on your scoring system).

So if you’re a league commissioner and the team that had Warner was still alive, you’ll need to look back and make sure that the changed ruling doesn’t alter your Week 16 matchups.

Have a Merry Christmas!

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. To report inappropriate comments, click the “X” that appears in the top right corner when your mouse is hovered over the chosen comment.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,502 other followers