Smith, Rice headline 2010 Hall of Fame class

CANTON, Ohio — Bad news for some of the fringe players waiting on the Hall of Fame, like Cris Carter, Shannon Sharpe and Andre Reed. That wait could become even longer as Emmitt Smith and Jerry Rice will be taking two of the available spots in the 2010 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

The NFL’s all-time leading rusher and one of the greatest receivers in NFL history (have to give love to former Packers WR Don Hutson) will be eligible for the first time next year and are absolute locks. And that subject did come up during’s Hall of Fame marathon chat.

Two other notable first-timers for 2010 include former Raiders WR Tim Brown and former Titans RB Eddie George. Although both players have a hard time stacking up against the previously mentioned first timers. Brown’s credentials will be pushed even further going up against Carter and Reed, making a potential induction a ways off, or even unlikely.

Here is a list of some of the other notable Hall of Fame candidates and when they are eligible.

  • Class of 2011: CB Deion Sanders, RB Marshall Faulk, RB Jerome Bettis and RB Curtis Martin.
  • Class of 2012: Coaches Bill Cowher and Bill Parcells.
  • Class of 2013: DE Michael Strahan.
  • Class of 2014 (if they stay retired): LB Junior Seau and QB Brett Favre.

Adam Rank

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)