Titans throw back to original Oilers

Vince Young sports the helmet of the original Houston Oilers of 1960. (Mark Humphrey / Associated Press)

(Mark Humphrey / Associated Press)

Sunday’s Hall of Fame Game marks the first of 16 “AFL Legacy Games” that will be played during the 2009 season in commemoration of the 50th anniversary celebration of the inaugural season of the American Football League.

The Tennessee Titans prepared for their matchup with the Buffalo Bills in Canton, Ohio, by breaking out helmets worn by the original Houston Oilers in 1960 (the Oilers moved from Houston to Tennessee in 1997, and then became the Titans in 1999).

The 1960 Houston Oilers were champions of the American Football League in its first season, and featured Hall of Famer George Blanda (Photos) at quarterback. The Oilers repeated as AFL champions in 1961. The Buffalo Bills found success during the AFL’s decade of play before the AFL-NFL merger, winning championships in 1964 and 1965. The Bills and Oilers were the only two-time champions of the AFL.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)