Underclassmen quarterbacks are a risk

When Detroit studies the history of quarterbacks, it will find that it is not much better than its own.

By and large, underclassmen quarterbacks have failed miserably in the NFL. Since the 1990 NFL Draft, when underclassmen first became eligible to be drafted after being only three years removed from high school instead of four, there have been 15 quarterbacks drafted in round one.

Of those 15, ony five have been selected to a Pro Bowl — Vince Young, Ben Roethlisberger, Michael Vick, Trent Dilfer, Drew Bledsoe. The list of underclass quarterbacks drafted in round one since 1990 has far more misses than hits.

Draft year Name Pick Team School Year
2007 JaMarcus Russell 1 Raiders LSU Junior
2006 Vince Young 3 Titans Texas Junior
2005 Alex Smith 1 49ers Utah Junior
2004 Ben Roethlisberger 11 Steelers Miami (Ohio) Junior
2003 Rex Grossman 22 Bears Florida Junior
2001 Michael Vick 1 Falcons Virginia Tech Sophomore
1999 Tim Couch 1 Browns Kentucky Junior
1998 Ryan Leaf 2 Chargers Washington State Junior
1994 Heath Shuler 3 Redskins Tennessee Junior
1994 Trent Dilfer 6 Buccaneers Fresno State Junior
1993 Drew Bledsoe 1 Patriots Washington State Junior
1992 Tommy Maddox 25 Broncos UCLA Sophomore
1991 Todd Marinovich 24 Raiders USC Sophomore
1990 Jeff George 1 Colts Illinois Junior
1990 Andre Ware 7 Lions Houston Junior
Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)