Super Bowl-winning coaches rare in NFL right now

To sum up the state of the NFL coaching business, consider this: Only two active head coaches have won Super Bowls. Two! New England’s Bill Belichick has three titles and New York Giants coach Tom Coughlin has one.

Aside from those two, no active head coach has won a Super Bowl.

And in a different sense, the numbers are even more startling. Since 2005, nine Super Bowl-winning coaches have either have been fired or retired.

The nine: Brian Billick, Bill Cowher, Tony Dungy, Joe Gibbs, Jon Gruden, Mike Holmgren, Bill Parcells, Mike Shanahan and Dick Vermeil.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)