Former Super Bowl QBs dominate divisional round

Time and time again there are reminders that this is a quarterback-driven league. Now there’s another.

Six of the eight quarterbacks in this weekend’s divisional playoff games — Kerry Collins, Jake Delhomme, Eli Manning, Donovan McNabb, Ben Roethlisberger and Kurt Warner — previously have started at least one Super Bowl. Manning, Roethlisberger and Warner have all won a Super Bowl.

It is the highest number of starting quarterbacks with Super Bowl experience in the divisional playoff round in NFL history and the most in 15 years, since five did it back in 1993.

Back then, the Super Bowl starting quarterbacks to lead their teams to the divisional playoffs were Troy Aikman (Dallas), Jeff Hostetler (Oakland), Jim Kelly (Bills), Joe Montana (Chiefs) and Phil Simms (Giants).

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)