QBs in contention for Offensive Rookie of the Year

Rookie quarterbacks Matt Ryan and Joe Flacco are attempting to do something rarer than a 2,000-yard rushing season.

While sitting at our production meeting for Thursday night’s three-hour NFL Network pregame show, our ace researcher, George “Puddin’ Pie” Li, came up with this beauty:

In NFL history, only two quarterbacks have won the Offensive Rookie of the Year award.

The first was Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, the other was Titans quarterback Vince Young.

But nobody else — not Dan Marino, John Elway, Troy Aikman, Peyton Manning, not any of them — ever won the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Ryan might be the leader this year, Titans running back Chris Johnson is not far behind, and Flacco is in the discussion. But generally speaking, rookie quarterbacks don’t come away with rookie of the year.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)