DB Bryant, QB Gutierrez among 18 waived by Pats

Defensive back Fernando Bryant and quarterback Matt Gutierrez were among the 18 players released by the New England Patriots Saturday. Bryant’s release, along with that of DB Jason Webster on Aug. 26 removes two veteran players with starting experience brought in this offseason to help replace Asante Samuel.

Gutierrez was battling Matt Cassel to become the Patriots’ backup QB behind Tom Brady.

In addition to Bryant and Gutierrez , the Patriots released the following players:

Defensive linemen Titus Adams and Santonio Thomas, cornerback Mike Richardson, tight end Tyson DeVree, safety Mark Dillard, center Mike Flynnn, running back BenJarvus Green-Ellis, linebackers Victor Hobson and Vince Redd, tackle Stephen Sene, defensive back Antwain Spann and guard John Welbourn.

Additionally, the Patriots placed LB Bo Ruud and DL Kenny Smith on the seserve/injured list and T Oliver Ross on the reserve/non-football injury list.

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by WordPress.com VIP | Subscribe (RSS)