Colvin, Shipp among 21 cut by Texans

Nine-year veteran DE/LB Rosevelt Colvin and RB Marcel Shipp were among 21 players released by the Houston Texans on Friday in an attempt to reduce the roster to the NFL-mandated 53 players.

In addition to Colvin, the Texans released FB Jon Abbate, QBs Shane Boyd and Alex Brink, LBs Kevis Coley and Ben Moffitt, S Glenn Earl, C Greg Eslinger, CBs Jamar Fletcher, Dexter Wynn and Derrick Roberson, TE Ryan Krause, DTs Gabe Long and Anthony Maddox, WRs LeRon McCoy, Darnell Jenkins and Mark Simmons, DE Jesse Nading, RB Darius Walker and T Torrin Tucker.

Colvin was signed by the Texans in the offseason following five injury-filled seasons with the New England Patriots.

The Texans have one more player to release in order to reach the 53-man limit by 6 p.m. ET on Saturday.

For more information, visit Houston

Guidelines: Fan feedback should be within the guidelines for the NFL community. These guidelines will be used to identify those comments that will be removed from display on the site. Please keep your comments relevant to the topic, not abusive or combatant towards other fans, and don’t share any personal details. Use the “Report” link to help keep the community at its best.

Comments may be no longer than 2000 characters and will post to the site shortly after submitting.

Powered by VIP | Subscribe (RSS)